Let’s Catch Up

A lot of about life has changed during the past year, and I haven’t really sat down to write about much of it at all. I guess I was buys enjoy all the changes, and I’m hoping now everything will be settled enough that I can come back and write some more than I have been. It’s probably a good idea to catch you up so when I come back and mention some of the changes you won’t feel out of the loop.

One year ago, pretty much exactly, I got promoted to a job that I wanted but didn’t expect to get nearly as quickly as I did. I thought it would be a few more years before it happened, but my boss left and when he did I got his job.  When it happened, I experienced a vast array of emotions ranging from excited and motivated to quickly humbled and under-experienced. Every since then work has been great though, and God is providing everything I need to do the job successfully. I’m in charge of fundraising and the year was a good one, so our staff continues to get paid and I haven’t been going to bed stressed out every night. It took a while to get to the point where my work brain didn’t consume me at home, but in the past few months things have been a lot better and I’ve had time to thing about other things… like the new house we bought in October.

I have loved having my own house that I can paint, decorate, and live in knowing that I’m not leaving in a year. It’s been fun watching Hurley settle into his domain, the back yard, and dig holes in various spots to bury his bones. He’s gotten his walk routine down around the neighborhood and likes to lead me on the same path every night. He chose in front of the fireplace for his spot that he lays to relax. We feel at home here now, and it’s been great. Last week I cleaned out one of the extra bedrooms to turn into the baby’s room, which should be arriving late November if everything goes as planned. I’m dying to know if it’s a boy or a girl so we can start planning colors and pick a name. I thought getting pregnant would make me feel older, but it really doesn’t at all. I am just ready to start playing again. The picture above is the baby’s first present from Brian. We had a huge event at work two weeks ago, and this picture was one of the silent auction items. It was made by the kids at the school I work at, and I had told Brian I wanted it but I didn’t know that he bid on it until we got home that day and he pulled it out of the car. It was such a great surprise.

The cooking hasn’t stopped but taking pictures has slowed a lot. Which is one reason I haven’t been motivated to write because I don’t have pictures to show off. I did make some really great french bread recently that I snapped a picture of. I guess for now I’ll have to get by with this.

I also had my first experience with fondant recently, although it wasn’t anything to really brag about. For my sister’s birthday in March I cut out fondant flowers and stuck them on top of come cupcakes I made. They were cute, and I did fool her for a second when she thought I bought them, so that made it worth it.

Now that I feel like you all might be caught up on what’s going on, I feel like I can start writing about food again or other things and you won’t be shocked when I mention babies. That is a good feeling.

Leave a comment