Butterbeer and a letter to JK Rowling

PB140030.jpg

Dear J.K. Rowling,

First of all, I would like to say that the Harry Potter series is the most wonderful story I have come across in my lifetime. Thank you for using your amazing imagination to come up with a story so epic and full of love, danger, and excitement. I read all of the books straight through about a year ago, and I’ve seen all of the movies at least 7 times. I love fantasy and adventure, and your books have the perfect combination of the two to create such a wonderful masterpiece.

Since the 7th movie comes out this week, I decided to make Butterbeer, the famous drink from the stories. The only problem is that you didn’t give any indication as to what this drink’s ingredients might be. After reading the books and doing a little research, I still had no clear answers. Is Butterbeer alcoholic? Does it give you a sugar high? Do you like it? Will I like it? I know from the story that it is frothy, because Hermione gets a mustache in the movie (assuming the movie portrays an accurate account of Butterbeer). Aside from that, I had only speculation.

I looked up some recipes that other people have come up with, and found several different versions of the drink. Some were very simple, and some were very intricate. I chose a recipe that looked closest to what I thought Butterbeer might be like. Complete with home-made butterscotch and a foamy topping it seemed to be the best interpretation of the drink.

So, I made it, and I have to ask you, how did you come up with this? Is it a common thing in England or did you make it up? I tried it and it’s very, very sweet. I think when I was a kid I might have liked it, but there is something about having grown up taste buds that makes it a little too much. The drink in the books is for kids though, and I think you’re right to keep it a kid’s drink. Therefore I decided: No alcohol, stick to the sweet and fun drink that Butterbeer is.

I hope you approve of the recipe I’ve selected. If you have any tips on how it should be different I would be more than happy to hear them. Once again, I love your books, and I can’t wait to see the movie interpretation this week!

Sincerely,

MollyCookie

PB140025.jpg

P.S. Here is the recipe that I adapted. I found the recipe on the Fox News Website.

Butterbeer based on the drink from the Harry Potter series

Makes 4 tall glasses

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream, divided
  • Four 12-ounce bottles of your favorite cream soda

Directions

In a small saucepan over medium heat, stir together the brown sugar and the water until it melts and begins to boil. Bring to a temperature of 240 degrees F. This takes about 4 minutes.

Stir in the butter, salt, vinegar, and 1/4 cup of the heavy cream. Remove from heat and let sit until the mixture is at room temperature, for about 45 minutes.

In a medium bowl, Combine 2 tablespoons of the brown sugar mixture and the remaining 1/2 cup whipping cream. Use an electric mixer and beat until just thickened but not completely whipped, about 2-3 minutes.

To serve, put about 1/4 cup of the brown sugar mixture in a glass and top with the cream soda. Stir to combine. Top with whipped topping. Give to children who don’t need to go to sleep anytime soon and have plenty of popcorn and other salty snacks on hand to offset the sweetness if needed.

One thought on “Butterbeer and a letter to JK Rowling

  1. The real drink ‘butterbeer’ was made in the Tudor period from beer, sugar, eggs, nutmeg and butter. However, it is unclear as to whether the butterbeer in the Harry Potter books includes alcohol but it is not considered harmful to young witches or wizards although referred to as mildy intoxicating and definitely intoxicating to house elves.:):)

Leave a Reply

